The 5 Stages of Grief - Acceptance

Small Business Coaching Real Estate Coaching Jeremy Wiliams Red Hawk Coaching

Loss is something we all deal with in life. Last week, many Texans had extensive property damage from busting pipes which also led to the loss of irreplaceable family heirlooms, there is the loss of loved ones, broken relationships, financial challenges, and much more. Understanding the stages provides knowledge, and applied knowledge is power. This week we've walked through the 5 Stages of Grief including Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and finally today is Acceptance.

Acceptance doesn't mean the pain automatically goes away. Acceptance means that at last we're at a point of acknowledging the reality of the loss/challenge. In this stage of the grieving process, we've made the conscious decision to no longer make the loss something different than it actually is to us.

Sadness and regret may continue to be present, yet not at the expense of denial, anger, bargaining, and depression. This is not to say remnants from these stages may not linger, yet they will begin to fade and be less prominent.

Know that everyone walks through these stages differently. Some will sink deeper into one stage and breeze past another. Some may move through a stage, and then revert back to a previous stage. Understanding the stages can help in dealing with our emotions, and know that you don't have to do it alone, and in some cases, professional help should be sought. (By the way, seeking help is a sign of strength and not weakness.)

I trust that walking through these stages over the course of the week has helped someone. If you know someone that might need this information, this series of posts are on my blog. If you do need help, here is a resource.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, can assist you with a treatment referral and provide you with contact information for local services. Contact 1-800-662-4357. They are available 24/7, 365 days a year.

Read the 1st of the 5 Stages of Grief – Denial

Read the 2nd of the 5 Stages of Grief – Anger

Read the 3rd of the 5 Stages of Grief – Bargaining

Read the 4th of the 5 Stages of Grief - Depression


Learn how coaching can change the trajectory of your business and life!