The 5 Stages of Grief - Depression

Small Business Coaching Real Estate Coaching Jeremy Wiliams Red Hawk Coaching

In my last post, we looked at the third Stage of Grief; Bargaining. Today we look at Depression.

Depression is the point at which we begin to understand the reality of the loss. Bargaining no longer provides a sense of control over the situation, and now reality sets in.

In this stage, the loss we experienced can create amplified emotions. The fog of the loss that was created in the first 3 stages begins to subside, and the feeling of loss rises to the surface. The loss is a reality, and in this stage we’ve come to realize that we can no longer avoid the reality.

Like bargaining, we shift our thinking inward, and the feeling of sadness becomes more prevalent. In these situations, we may remove ourselves from social situations, and will close ourselves off to those we love and trust. Though this is a natural progression, depression is isolating.

If you find yourself in this stage, you’re not alone. Seek help. If you’re unaware of local resources in your area, reach out to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and they can assist you with a treatment referral and provide you with contact information for local services. Contact 1-800-662-4357. They are available 24/7, 365 days a year.

Tomorrow will focus on the final stage of Acceptance.

Read the 1st of the 5 Stages of Grief – Denial

Read the 2nd of the 5 Stages of Grief – Anger

Read the 3rd of the 5 Stages of Grief - Bargaining


Learn how coaching can change the trajectory of your business and life!